Get help

Help center

Guides and answers

Contact support

Write to our team

Sign in to

Workflows

Build processes with your team

Automations

Connect files and automate tasks

One system, four parts

AI agents

Virtual Employees that work 24/7

Automations

Connect files and automate tasks

Workflows

Build processes with your team

Data Space

Trusted data sharing and control

Solutions by department

Finance

Reports, budgets, and reconciliations

Inventory and manufacturing

Stock, orders, and production in one view

HR

Timesheets, attendance, and reviews

Project management

Status and workload across projects

Sales and CRM

Leads and deals kept up to date

Education

Student records and school data

Finance

Turn manual finance work into reports that update themselves.

What Finance teams automate

  • Track payables and receivables
  • Build cash flow statements
  • Compare budget against actuals

Inventory and manufacturing

See stock levels and automate ordering.

What inventory and manufacturing teams automate

  • Track inventory across multiple sites
  • Connect sales, purchasing, and warehouse data
  • Link a barcode scanner to your sheet

HR

Run recruitment, attendance, and OKR tracking from your sheets.

What HR teams automate

  • Track recruitment and onboarding
  • Record team OKRs and results
  • Track check-ins, check-outs, and leave

Project management

Assign tasks and track hours without manual updates.

What project teams automate

  • Assign tasks and track status changes
  • Estimate effort and log hours worked
  • Track milestones across projects

Sales and CRM

Track leads and sales performance with automated reports.

What sales teams automate

  • Track and convert leads
  • Set sales goals and track team metrics
  • Monitor sales KPIs on dashboards

Education

Automate attendance, grades, and school purchasing.

What schools automate

  • Track attendance and notify parents
  • Record and compare class grades
  • Track inventory lent to students and staff

Find a use case

By department

How each team uses Sheetgo

By industry

How each industry uses Sheetgo

By company size

Small, medium-sized, or large

Learn

Blog

Guides and product news

Customer stories

How teams like yours use Sheetgo

Help center

Guides and answers

Why Sheetgo

Compare

How Sheetgo compares with other tools

Security

How we protect your data

Trust center

Our compliance details

Sign in to

Workflows

Build processes with your team

Automations

Connect files and automate tasks

One system, four parts

AI agents

Virtual Employees that work 24/7

Automations

Connect files and automate tasks

Workflows

Build processes with your team

Data Space

Trusted data sharing and control

Solutions by department

Finance

Reports, budgets, and reconciliations

Inventory and manufacturing

Stock, orders, and production in one view

HR

Timesheets, attendance, and reviews

Project management

Status and workload across projects

Sales and CRM

Leads and deals kept up to date

Education

Student records and school data

Find a use case

By department

How each team uses Sheetgo

By industry

How each industry uses Sheetgo

By company size

Small, medium-sized, or large

Get started

Templates

Ready-made workflows to start from

Learn

Blog

Guides and product news

Customer stories

How teams like yours use Sheetgo

Help center

Guides and answers

Why Sheetgo

Compare

How Sheetgo compares with other tools

Security

How we protect your data

Trust center

Our compliance details

Help center

Guides and answers

Contact support

Write to our team

Workflows

Build processes with your team

Automations

Connect files and automate tasks

How to find circular references in Excel (and fix them)

Excel offers a wide and versatile set of formulas that ranges from basic to more advanced calculations. However, the higher the level of complexity, the more chances you will encounter a problem in your dataset.

If you have come across this error message, “There are one or more circular references where a formula refers to its own cell, either directly or indirectly. This might cause them to calculate incorrectly. Try removing or changing these references, or moving the formulas to different cells.”, then it is likely that you tried to apply a formula to its own cell.

By the end of this article, you will know how to locate and remove a circular reference in Excel effectively to quickly resolve any further issues you may encounter in your dataset.

What is a circular reference?

According to Microsoft, a circular reference occurs when “your formula is trying to calculate itself”. In simpler words, the formula refers to the same cell where it’s located, creating a reference loop that keeps the formula working without completion. The examples below will show what a circular reference looks like in Excel.

Circular reference example(s)

If you select a cell and type in "=" sign followed by that same cell, it creates a circular reference. For example, "=E1".

How to find circular reference in Excel — cell E1 with the formula =E1 typed into it

As you can see below, Microsoft Excel prompts the circular reference error message. Click “OK” to proceed.

Circular reference in Excel — Microsoft Excel warning that there are one or more circular references, with OK and Help buttons

Now, we’ll try with a less basic formula, an IF function that also includes the cell of the formula. For example, "=IF(E1=2, "YES")".

Circular reference in Excel — cell E1 holding an IF formula that refers to E1 itself

As soon as you hit “Enter” you will get a “0” result instead of the error message. However, this is a way to let you know that there is something wrong with the formula. Now, let’s explore how to find circular references in Excel to fix them.

How to find circular references in Excel?

Finding a circular reference is easier than you think. You simply need to use the “Circular References” feature under the Formulas tab. This will help you locate any circular reference in your spreadsheet, so you can then proceed to remove or fix it, if possible.

1. Go to Formulas > Error Checking > Circular References. The cells containing a circular reference will appear as a list next to the menu.

Find circular reference in Excel — Formulas tab Error Checking menu with Circular References pointing to $E$1

2. The circular reference is also displayed at the bottom of the active sheet, showing the cell where it’s located. Here, “E1”.

Find circular reference in Excel — status bar at the bottom of the sheet showing Circular References: E1

Note that you may have circular references in sheets besides the active one, for example when a formula references another sheet. In this case, Excel won’t display the cell, only “Circular Reference”.

If you find that the “Circular References” function doesn’t work, you may need to disable the “Iterative Calculation” option. Although this function is usually disabled by default, you can check by going to File > Options > Formulas.

Circular reference in Excel — Excel Options Formulas page with Enable iterative calculation unchecked and Maximum Iterations set to 100

In “Calculation options” you should see the “Enable iterative calculation” box disabled. If you enable this feature, Excel will recalculate the formula as many times as necessary. This will definitely affect the correct functioning of your workbook. However, you can always specify how many times Excel should recalculate in “Maximum Iterations”.

Now that you know how to identify a circular reference in Excel, let’s see how you can remove circular references in your Excel file.

How to remove circular references in Excel?

Unfortunately, there is no button or feature to get rid of all circular references in Excel at once. If your dataset is large and complex, sometimes you can’t find a circular reference in Excel as easily as shown previously. To do so, you’ll need to trace relationships between formulas and cells. This is how you can trace relationships to fix circular references.

1. Go to Formulas > Trace Precedents. This will display which cell is providing the data to the formula. Below, the blue arrow shows that cell F1, the precedent cell, is part of the formula in cell E1.

Fix circular reference in Excel — Trace Precedents arrow between cells E1 and F1 on the Formulas tab

2. Select “Trace Dependents” to display the cells that contain the formula referencing the selected cell. Here, E1 is dependent on F1.

Fix circular reference in Excel — Trace Dependents selected with a blue arrow linking E1 and F1

3. To find out exactly how each cell is referencing another in the formula, select “Show Formulas” from the “Formulas” tab. Now you can identify the formula issues.

Fix circular reference in Excel — Show Formulas view with =(E1*2/F1) in column E and =100*E1 in column F

4. As you can see within the formulas, these two cells are completely dependent on each other, causing this circular reference. Now you can pinpoint which cell references you need to alter within the formula in order to break this cycle. The most common way to do this is by turning at least one of the dependent cells into a static value (if possible). In this example, I can substitute my E1 reference with the static value of “5” to avoid a circular reference.

Fix circular reference in Excel — E1 formula changed to =(5*2/F1), returning 0.05 in column E and 200 in column F

5. To continue working on your spreadsheet as normal, you can click “Remove Arrows” on the same “Formulas” tab. You have the option of removing them altogether, or according to the type of trace, as shown below.

Fix circular reference in Excel — Remove Arrows menu with Remove Precedent Arrows and Remove Dependent Arrows

In a few clicks, you’ve seen how to trace the cell relationships within a circular reference and how to fix it by substituting a cell reference with a static value.

Please note: There are many circumstances where you are purposefully creating a circular reference within your Excel workbook. In this case, it’s best to reduce the number of circular references within a single worksheet in order to reduce loading times.

Conclusion

If you want to stop Excel from entering an endless loop and slowing down all calculations overall, having a full understanding of what a circular reference is and how to fix it is as crucial as it is useful.

This article has explained the concept of “circular reference”. You have also seen how to find circular references and remove them in Excel in just a few steps. Interested in learning more about formulas in Excel? Take a look at some of our latest blog posts:

Loops like these get harder to spot when your formulas pull values from other sheets and workbooks. If you copy data between Excel files by hand, Sheetgo’s AI automations can connect those files and update them on a schedule instead.

You may also like…

How to lock cells in Excel — Excel logo next to a green padlock on a mint background

How to lock cells in Excel? (cells, sheets & formulas)

Learn how to lock cells in Excel to stop accidental edits, plus how to protect a sheet and lock formulas, with steps for Windows and Mac.

Excel version control — stacked XLS file icon in teal on a dark navy background

The beginner’s guide to Excel version control

Discover what Excel version control is, the version control features Excel has to offer, and how to use them to share, merge, and review Excel changes.

How to remove password protection from Excel — Excel icon next to a padlock with a masked password on a light blue background

How to remove a password from Excel (multiple methods)

Learn how to remove password protection from Excel: unlock a file or a sheet when you know the password, and what to try if you’ve forgotten it.